Barcelona vs Athletic Bilbao, La Liga: Match Thread, Live Updates

Barcelona vs Athletic Bilbao, La Liga: A Thrilling Match

The clash between Barcelona and Athletic Bilbao unfolded in a spectacular fashion, with Barcelona securing a 1-0 victory. Despite the absence of several key players, Barcelona delivered a remarkable performance that kept fans on the edge of their seats. The hero of the match was none other than 17-year-old Marc Guiu, who came off the bench and scored a memorable goal, earning his team all three points.

80’ GOAL!!!!!! Barcelona 1-0 Athletic (Guiu): The defining moment occurred when João Félix received the ball in midfield and masterfully delivered a pass to Marc Guiu. In an astonishing debut, Guiu scored within less than 60 seconds of coming on, putting Barcelona in the lead. It was truly a remarkable and unforgettable moment for the fans.

The second half commenced with the score at 0-0, promising another thrilling chapter of the match. The first half was marked by intense competition, as both teams had their moments. Although Barcelona had the best two chances to take the lead, Athletic Bilbao proved to be a formidable opponent, setting the stage for an exciting second half.

The match took place at the Montjuïc Olympic Stadium, serving as Barcelona’s temporary home. In this La Liga showdown, Barcelona, the defending champions, faced Athletic Bilbao. This match marked the beginning of a significant week of home matches for Barcelona following the international break. Despite contending with injuries to key players, Barcelona was determined to secure a victory, making it a compelling encounter for fans.

LINEUPS

BARCELONA

  • Starting XI: Ter Stegen; Cancelo, Christensen, Iñigo, Balde; Gündogan, Romeu, Gavi; Ferran, Félix, Fermín (4-3-3)
  • Substitutes: Peña (GK), Astralaga (GK), Araujo, Alonso, Fort, Unai, Yamal, Guiu

ATHLETIC BILBAO

  • Starting XI: Simón; De Marcos, Vivian, Paredes, Berchiche; Herrera, García; I. Williams, Sancet, N. Williams; Guruzeta (4-2-3-1)
  • Substitutes: Agirrezabala (GK), Lekue, Imanol, Galarreta, Nolaskoain, Prados, U. Gómez, Muniain, Berenguer, Ares, Villalibre, R. García

MATCH INFO

  • Competition/Round: 2023-24 La Liga, Matchday 10
  • Date/Time: Sunday, October 22, 2023, 9 pm CET (Barcelona), 8 pm BST (UK & Nigeria), 3 pm ET, 12 pm PT (USA), 12.30 am IST (India, Monday)
  • Venue: Estadi Olímpic Lluís Companys, Montjuïc, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
  • Referee: Juan Martínez Munuera
  • VAR: Valentín Pizarro Gómez

HOW TO WATCH

  • On TV: ESPN Deportes (USA), SuperSport (Nigeria), Sports18 (India), ITV 4, Viaplay Sports 1 (UK), TSN 2 (Canada), Not Available (Spain), and other broadcasters
  • Online: ESPN+ (USA), ITVX, LaLigaTV (UK), DAZN (Spain), and various online platforms

Matchday Thread Rules:

  • Maintain a respectful tone and avoid excessive profanity, even in the face of unfavorable refereeing decisions or match outcomes.
  • Refrain from discussing or sharing illegal streaming links. Violators will receive warnings, and those posting links will be promptly banned.
  • Promote a welcoming and considerate environment. This community represents Barcelona, and mutual respect is encouraged.

Leave a comment

Vito Mielnicki Jr.’s Dominant Triumph: A First-Round Knockout Saga Unprecedented Rainfall Floods New York City Disease X: A Looming Pandemic Threat Cowboys’ Dominant 40-0 Victory Over Giants: A Rainy Night Rout Tributes Flow as Tamil Actor G Marimuthu Succumbs to Heart Attack